This is a preview. To continue reading, register for free access now. Register Now or Log in

Involuntary and Voluntary Pay Deductions: Florida

Involuntary and Voluntary Pay Deductions requirements for other states

Federal law and guidance on this subject should be reviewed together with this section.

Author: Vicki M. Lambert, The Payroll Advisor


  • An employer that receives an income withholding order for child support must begin withholding no later than the first payday date that occurs more than 14 days after the date the order was served on the employer. The amounts withheld must be remitted within two days after payday. Special rules apply to interstate income withholding orders. Employers are subject to penalties for failure to withhold and remit child support. Federal withholding limits apply. See Child Support Withholding.
  • When an employee is subject to a creditor garnishment to repay a debt, the employer will be required to periodically withhold and pay to the court that issued the judgment a portion of the employee's salary or wages as it becomes due. Creditor garnishments continue until the amount of the judgment is satisfied, or until otherwise provided by court order. An employer that is served with a writ of garnishment must answer and submit certain questions to the issuing court within 20 days. Federal withholding limits apply. See Creditor Garnishment Withholding.
  • Voluntary wage assignments made by employees are invalid in Florida. See Voluntary Wage Assignments.