This is a preview. To continue reading, register for free access now. Register Now or Log in

Involuntary and Voluntary Pay Deductions: New Hampshire

Involuntary and Voluntary Pay Deductions requirements for other states

Federal law and guidance on this subject should be reviewed together with this section.

Author: Vicki M. Lambert, The Payroll Advisor


  • An employer that receives an income withholding order for child support for an employee must begin withholding no later than in the first pay period that occurs after 14 days after the notice is mailed to the employer and remit the amount withheld on the employee's payday. The amount withheld must be remitted on the employee's payday. Certain withholding limits apply. Penalties are imposed for violations. See Child Support Withholding.
  • An employer that is served with a creditor garnishment against an employee's wages must answer and return a set of questions to the issuing court within 30 days of the date they were served on the employer. Certain wages are exempt from creditor garnishment. See Creditor Garnishment Withholding.
  • In New Hampshire, voluntary assignments of future wages are invalid unless certain conditions are satisfied. See Voluntary Wage Assignments.