This is a preview. To continue reading, register for free access now. Register Now or Log in

Child Labor: North Carolina

Child Labor requirements for other states

Federal law and guidance on this subject should be reviewed together with this section.

Author: Connie Carrigan, Smith Debnam Narron Drake Saintsing & Myers, LLP


  • North Carolina's Wage and Hour Act regulates the employment of minors under 18 years of age.
  • In addition to the hazardous occupations prohibited by federal law, North Carolina specifies nine detrimental occupations in which minors may not be employed. See Prohibited Occupations.
  • Minors' available work hours are limited depending on their ages. See Hours of Work.
  • Employers must provide breaks to minors under 16 years of age. See Break Periods.
  • Minors may not work without a youth employment certificate. See Employment Certificates.